Lectures for The 14th Lecture Series by Academicians from the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)

Date Posted: 
25 March, 2024

The Department of Mathematics, The Institute of Mathematical Sciences and The China Engagement Office, are honored to invite Professor ZHANG Ping and Professor YE Xiangdong, Members of the Division of Mathematics and Physics of The Chinese Academy of Sciences, to deliver lectures for The 14th Lecture Series by Academicians from the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) at CUHK.


18 April 2024


9:30 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.


LT8, 2/F, Yasumoto International Academic Park, CUHK


  1. Global Stability of Large Fourier Mode for 3-D Anisotropic Navier-Stokes Equations in Cylindrical Domain by Professor ZHANG Ping
  2. Recurrence in Dynamics and Applications by Professor YE Xiangdong

Registration link: https://www.cuhk.edu.hk/cneo/cas_2024/

Professor ZHANG and Professor YE are both renowned international mathematicians. The lectures not only provide an occasion to invite CAS Members to speak with faculty and students, but also an occasion to assemble as an intellectual community to discuss exciting works and up-to-date research. More about Professor ZHANG and Professor YE can be seen as follows:

Professor ZHANG Ping

  1. Professor Zhang Ping is now president of Academy of Mathematics and System Sciences, The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He received his BS in Mathematics from Nanjing University in 1991, and PhD from Nanjing University in 1997. He was postdoctor in the Institute of Mathematics, CAS, from 1997 to 1999. From 1999 on, he has been working in the Academy of Mathematics and System Sciences, CAS. He was promoted to the full professor position in 2003. Professor Zhang’s research lies in the mathematical theory of viscous fluid dynamical equations and semi-classical limit of nonlinear Schrodinger equations. His honors include: Outstanding Youth Grant from Natural Sciences Foundation of China in 2005; China Youth Science and Technology Innovation Award in 2007: State Natural Science Award of second class in 2011: Changjiang chair professor of The University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2015; Chern Shiing-Shen Prize of Chinese Mathematical Society in 2019. He was elected to the Academician of The Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2021.


Professor YE Xiangdong

  1. Professor Ye Xiangdong is a professor at University of Science and Technology of China. He is engaged in the research of topological dynamics, ergodic theory and its application in combinatorial number theory. Joint with collaborators, he has carried out in-depth research on the structure theorem of dynamical systems, the convergence of multiple ergodic averages, the theory of entropy, the complexity of dynamical systems and their applications in combinatorial number theory and obtained a series of profound results. In 2013, 2018 and 2020, he won the 14th S.S. Chen Mathematics Award, the second Prize of National Natural Science (1/3) and the He Liang He Li Award for Progress in Science and Technology respectively. He was elected as a member of CAS in 2019, and a member of The World Academy of Sciences in 2023.